PA Raspberry Pi Competition

Students using Raspberry Pi devices

Our annual Raspberry Pi Competition is a celebration of STEM education, giving schoolchildren the tools and opportunity to invent products that can benefit society. Using engineering and coding skills and a Raspberry Pi microcomputer, students put their ingenuity to the test to come up with inspiring solutions to global challenges.

There’s nothing more personal than health, but healthcare doesn’t always reflect that. Diagnosis, monitoring and treatment usually happen where clinicians work, not where people, of all ages, work, live or study. The rise of technologies such as sensors, robotics and digital therapeutics is changing that, opening up a world of care focused on the individual, that improves outcomes throughout life.

For this year’s Raspberry Pi competition, we are challenging 8-18 year-olds to invent products that will help individuals to improve their health and well-being, and be able to do this wherever is best for them: at home, office, school or on the move.

It’s no easy task, but human ingenuity has a way of solving even the most complex problems. We’re excited to see what the students come up with.

See the innovations from the last competition

PA Pi Awards 2023

Our partners

At ARU we aim to transform lives through innovative, inclusive and entrepreneurial education and research. ARU offers a variety of employer led, accredited computing and information science courses.
Rentokil Initial
Rentokil Initial provides services that protect people and enhance lives. The Rentokil Initial team are providing direct support and guidance to teams participating in this year's PA Raspberry Pi competition.

Meet 2023’s winners

Years 4-6 winners

Innovation Award
Raspberry Renewables from King Edward's Junior School

Inspiration Award
The Light Pi from Steeple Bumpstead Primary School

Years 7-9 winners

Innovation Award
REMI from Francis Holland School, Regent's Park

Inspiration Award
Slayalicious from Churcher's College

Years 10-11 winners

Innovation Award
SOLA from The Liverpool Blue Coat School

Inspiration Award
Wasted Water from Stonelaw high school

Years 12-13 winners

Innovation Award
HydroHeat from Fulford School

Inspiration Award
Smart Pingu from Barking Abbey School

Meet 2023’s finalists

Meet 2023’s judges

We’re delighted to present the judges for the PA Raspberry Pi Competition 2023. They will help to judge the ingenious entries from the school teams and decide on the category winners on awards day.

Cdre Catherine Jordan
Head of Culture, Royal Navy
Cesar Barba
CIO (UK & Ireland), Pepsico
Charles Parry
Director of Corporate Strategy and Investor Relations, Good Energy
Claire Hazle
Group Technology Director - Digital & Experience, L&G
Claire Miller
Mobility & Energy Advisor, formerly Director of Tech & Innovation, Octopus Electric Vehicles
Dave Smith
Director of Technology, Rolls-Royce
Dave Wascha
Former CPTO, Zoopla
Diana Kennedy
Group Chief Technology and Architecture Officer, Bupa
Dominic Lenton
Managing Editor, E&T Magazine
Gary Delooze
CIO, Co-operative Bank
Dr Hannah Prior
UK Sustainability Science Lead, Microsoft UK
Jay Bangle
Jo Wickremasinghe
Chief Product & Technology Officer, BPP Education
John Hobson
CIO, Kellogg Europe
John Laverick
Chief Digital and Information Officer, HMCTS
Kate Magee
Editor, Management Today
Katy Taylor
Chief Customer Officer, Southern Water
Mark Purcell
Group CIO, Rentokil
Ming Tang
Chief Data and Analytics Officer, NHS England
Naina Bhattacharya
Global CISO, Danone
Richard Drake
CTO, Babcock International
Richard Pedley
CIO, National Highways
Rik Cross
Director of Informal Learning, Raspberry Pi Foundation
Sarah Venning
Chief Digital Officer, Pret
Scott Mathieson
Network Planning & Regulation Director, Scottish Power Energy Networks
Dr Silvia Cirstea
Deputy Head of School in Computer Sciences, Anglia-Ruskin University
Simon Bowen
Interim Chair, Great British Nuclear
Simon Goodman
Group CIO, Network Rail
Siobhan McCarthy
IT Director - Governance, Communications & Special Projects, EMEA, Coca-Cola

Explore more

Contact the team

We look forward to hearing from you.

Get actionable insight straight to your inbox via our monthly newsletter.