Skip to content


  • Add this article to your LinkedIn page
  • Add this article to your Twitter feed
  • Add this article to your Facebook page
  • Email this article
  • View or print a PDF of this page
  • Share further
  • Add this article to your Pinterest board
  • Add this article to your Google page
  • Share this article on Reddit
  • Share this article on StumbleUpon
  • Bookmark this page

Finalists of Women in Defence UK Awards 2018 announced

The finalists of the Women in Defence UK Awards in association with PA Consulting, the innovation and transformation consultancy, are announced today, Wednesday 3 October. This year, in the awards’ third year, there have been over 300 nominations received from across the defence community including the Armed Forces, MOD Civil Service, GCHQ, MI5 and SIS, defence industry, the defence third sector and the Houses of Parliament Security.

Women in Defence UK exists for a community of people who wish to promote the value of women in defence. The organisation aims to inspire women to succeed authentically, share experience, build networks and encourage talent at all levels to join the defence sector. The awards have now received over 900 nominations over the last three years.

The 2018 finalists:

Inspirational Award – Sponsored by Thales

Lance Corporal Anna-Louise Stanley (The Army)

Flight Lieutenant Kerry Bennett (Royal Air Force)

Major Nics Wetherill (The Army)

Outstanding Contribution Award – Sponsored by BAE Systems

Corporal Karen Jones (Royal Air Force)

Major Ros Elliott (The Army)

Commander Sarah Cole (Royal Navy)

Most Collaborative Award – Sponsored by Aspire Defence

Squadron Leader Jodie Blackadder-Weinstein (Royal Air Force)

Doctor Penny Brookes (The Defence Science and Technology Laboratory)

Sarah Padley (Ministry of Defence)

Special Award – Sponsored by DXC Technology  

Major Cleo Bigwood (The Army)

Sergeant Emma Smith (The Army)

Michelle Partington (Royal Air Force)

Emerging Talent Award – Sponsored by the The Army

Lucy Finch (Defence Equipment and Support)

Flight Lieutenant Maria Lynch (Royal Air Force)

Chantelle (National Cyber Security Centre)

Innovation Award – Sponsored by QinetiQ

Professor Petra Oyston (Defence Science and Technology Laboratory)

Captain (RN) Sharon Malkin (Royal Navy)

Louise (M15)

Unsung Heroines Award – Sponsored by Dell EMC

Carolyn Stothard (Defence Science and Technology Laboratory)

Lorna Stubbs (Defence Equipment and Support)

Maggie O’Connell (Northrop Grumman)

Promotion of Gender Balance Award - Sponsored by ATOS

Fay Tennet (Houses of Parliament Security)

Natalie Salem (Northrop Grumman)

Victoria (M15)

Inclusive Teamwork Award Sponsored by the Royal Air Force

A Joint Operational Team (GCHQ)

MOD Occupational Psychologists (Ministry of Defence)

NGUKL Engagement Team (Northrop Grumman)

STEM in Defence Award – Sponsored by Northrop Grumman

Corporal Charlotte Dunn (Royal Air Force)

Lieutenant Colonel Deborah Taylor (The Army)

G.Eng (BAE Systems).

There is also a Woman of the Year 2018 award, sponsored by PA Consulting.

Angela Owen, founder of Women in Defence and a defence expert at PA Consulting, says: “This year’s finalists are superb ambassadors for the work women do in defence of the nation. An inspiring and worthy line-up, they range in rank from Lance Corporal to Captain Royal Navy and comprise women and teams from all three of the Armed Forces, the MOD Civil Service, GCHQ and MI5, defence industry and the Houses of Parliament Security.

“At PA, our overriding focus is on finding ingenious ways to bring real transformation to organisations and these awards exemplify what can be achieved when there is a commitment to change. Women in Defence UK celebrates inspirational work and promotes the value of women in the sector. I’m delighted to have seen such a diverse list of finalists during this year of the centenary of suffrage. Every finalist should feel proud of their achievements and recognition within the defence community.”  

The winners will be announced by the Secretary of State for Defence, The Rt Hon Gavin Williamson CBE MP on 6 November 2018.

The 2018 judges are:

  • Sqn Ldr Alison McLean, Personnel Officer, The Royal Air Force
  • Alison Stevenson, Director Head Office, Ministry of Defence
  • Fiona Lewinton, Group Director Transformation, QinetiQ
  • WO1 Glenn Haughton OBE, Army Sergeant Major, The Army
  • Flt Lt Iphie Modu, Legal Officer, Royal Air Force
  • Joanna Cavan OBE, Deputy Director GCHQ, Head of the National Assistance Technical Centre
  • Kim McCutcheon OBE. HR Management Consultant
  • Lois Nicholson, Counsellor Defence Acquisition and Technology, British Embassy, Washington DC, USA
  • Col Lucy Giles, President The Army Officers Selection Board
  • Martin Fausset, CEO of Elbit UK
  • Paul Livingston, Vice President and Group Managing Director, Lockheed Martin UK – Rotary & Mission Systems
  • WO1 Sarah Cox, WO1 Leadership, Centre for Army Leadership, Sandhurst
  • Siobhán Sheridan, Civilian HR Director, Ministry of Defence
  • Vix Anderton, Independent Inclusive Leadership and Gender Consultant
  • Lieutenant General Richard Nugee CVO CBE – Chief of Defence People
  • Kevin Craven – Chief Executive Officer Serco UK Central Government
  • Peter Smart – Chair of the Judging Panel – Chairman of Affinity
  • Ann Francke – Chief Executive Officer of the Chartered Management Institute
  • Her Excellency Janice Charette, High Commissioner for Canada to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Claire Logan – Global Head of People and Talent – PA Consulting

Contact the defence and security team


By using this website, you accept the use of cookies. For more information on how to manage cookies, please read our privacy policy.